top of page

I adopted your cat today

I adopted your cat today. The one you left at the pound. The one you had for ten years And no longer wanted around.

Why did you leave me?

I adopted your cat today. Do you know he’s lost weight? Do you know he’s scared and depressed And has lost all faith?

I adopted your cat today. He had fleas and a cold, But don’t worry none. You’ve unburdened your load.

I adopted your cat today. Were you having a baby or moving away? Did you suddenly develop allergies Or was there no reason he couldn’t stay?

I adopted your cat today. He doesn’t play or eat much. He’s very depressed, But he will learn again to trust.

I adopted your cat today And here he will stay. He’s found his forever home And a warm bed to lay.

I adopted your cat today And I will give him all that he could need. Patience, love, security, and understanding. Hopefully he will forget your selfish deed.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page